Star Watch Daily – 6/15/18

Hello everybody!

First, I’d like to just say thanks. Why? I finally hit 10 followers on my blog. Yes, I know, some reach like 100 in a month, but I’m ok with that. It is also just two days before my one-month goal. I am so thankful to God for all of you guys.

Anyways, back to Star Watch Daily.

Number One:

One more week until the June Bootids meteor shower and the start of the summer meteor shower season. At around 12 P.M. EST next Friday, it will begin. (I know I keep repeating this news about the meteor shower, but there’s not much news about space that I feel would fit into this blog anymore lol.) Unfortunately, as I live in a big city, I can hardly even see Venus LOL, so I should actually be able to see this meteor shower, but only like one fireball per hour. 😦

Number Two:

OK, enough about meteor showers, the next thing I want to talk about are the planets. The brightest planet visible (other than Venus) is Jupiter with just under -2.3 apparent magnitude. As I stated I believe in my first blog, Jupiter was at its brightest point then. Well, not any more. We won’t get any planets (other than Venus) that will be at brighter than or equal to -3 (i.e. -4, -5) apparent magnitude for a while. Even Mars, when it hits its historic counter on July 31 passing only .38 AU or just 1/3 of the distance  from the Earth to the Sun, will only be -2.77. It should be visible with luck, but not guaranteed. We have no more (essentially) guaranteed visibilities for planets for the year. 😦

Well that’s all for today’s edition of Star Watch Daily. I’m sorry guys, but there hasn’t been a lot of news that I felt good to put in this blog. Anyways, God bless! And remember, keep watching!

Haven’t seen yesterday’s edition of Star Watch Daily? Click here to see!

 

 

Leave a comment